Exchange Programs

Vassar students may apply, with the approval of their major department adviser, to study for a year or a semester at Amherst, Bowdoin, Connecticut College, Dartmouth, Mount Holyoke, Smith, Trinity, Wellesley, Wesleyan, or Wheaton, all member colleges of the Twelve College Exchange Program. Included in the possibilities are a semester at the Eugene O’Neill Memorial Theatre Center in Waterford, Connecticut, with academic credit sponsored by Connecticut College, and a semester of studies in maritime history and literature, oceanography, and marine ecology at the Mystic Seaport in Mystic Connecticut, with academic credit sponsored by Williams College. In addition, students may apply to study at one of the following historic black colleges: Howard University, Morehouse College, and Spelman College. Election of specific courses at Bard College is also possible. For a more complete list of programs within the United States as well as an explanation of the academic leave of absence, students should consult the Study Away website.

For information about the application process and credit transfer related to exchanges and academic leaves of absences students should consult the Office of the Dean of Studies.